Top Ten Tuesday 4/22/13

23 Apr

Top Ten Nine Books I Thought I’d Like LESS Than I Did (AKA 10 Surprisingly Readable Books)

Hope Dies Last: Keeping the Faith in Difficult Times by Studs Terkel: I was scared to read this book because it sounded like such a downer but I ended up really enjoying it and reading through a chunk of Terkel’s back catalogue.

Delirium by Lauren Oliver: The premise sounded so hokey to me but the first book of this trilogy works really well. (The later books don’t work quite so well, sadly.)

The False Prince by Jennifer Nielsen: I’ve read a lot of fantasy and most of it has been sub-par. The description sounded like it would be subpar but I was bored and it was cheap and so I took a chance. I’m glad I did because I ended up really enjoying the book. It was paced well and the protagonist was awesome.

Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer: It is the oldest story there is: Girl hates being outside to the point that thinking about camping gives her hives. Girl is bored. Girl reads this book and ends up with a whole shelf of books about climbing various 8000m peaks. It still doesn’t make sense to me but there you go.

A Kiss for Midwinter by Courtney Milan: The best romance novel about contraception that you will ever read. Trust me. I was scared by that as well but it is an enjoyable book!

King Leopold’s Ghost by Adam Hochschild: I was a little leery of this book when it was first released but one of my favorite authors raved about it and I bought it on their word alone. I have read every Adam Hochschild book he has subsequently published.

The Passage by Justin Cronin: I picked up this book because I thought it was in my wheelhouse but it seemed a little scary for me. Well, it was a lot scary for me but it was so compelling I was up all night reading it.

Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut: I hate non-linear storytelling which was a reason I didn’t rush to read this book. Vonnegut ended up as one of my favorite authors so clearly I shouldn’t make blanket statements.

Persuasion by Jane Austen: I must confess that I am not an Austen fan. This novel is the only one of hers that I liked.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

5 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday 4/22/13”

  1. LillyLilac 04/23/2013 at 10:29 AM #

    Good list, Slaughter House Five surprised me in a good way as well.

    • shoesforallsays 04/24/2013 at 6:28 PM #

      It seems like it shouldn’t be a good book when it is described but it works. I don’t know how Vonnegut did it.

  2. Maggie 04/24/2013 at 8:33 AM #

    Interesting list! Persuasion is my favourite Austen book, although I do like most of her others. I’ve had King Leopold’s Ghost on my list for a while; you’ve encouraged me to check it out!

    • shoesforallsays 04/24/2013 at 6:28 PM #

      All of Hochschild’s books are worth reading. I hope you enjoy!

    • auntadadoom 04/26/2013 at 1:02 PM #

      I like ’em all, but yeah, Persuasion is the best. Northanger Abbey made my TTT list, mostly because people I trusted had told me it was crap.

Leave a Reply

