Feature and Follow Friday 4/5/13

4 Apr

Have you ever read a book that you thought you would hate — ? Did you end up hating it? Did you end up loving it? Or would you never do that?

I spent almost a year staring at a copy of “The Sparrow” at a local bookstore. I didn’t end up reading it until 10 years later and it is now one of my favorite books.

I resisted Harry Potter as it became bigger and bigger. I finally purchased the four books that were available at the time (GOF had just been released) and became a huge Potter fan. I read Goblet of Fire on a plane ride to San Francisco BEFORE E-READERS. I think this is illustrative of how into the series I was since I was carting around a book the size of a brick. Deathly Hallows is now one of my favorite books and I cry every re-read. So I was wrong about Harry Potter.

Finally, I thought The Passage by Justin Cronin would be too scary for me. Don’t get me wrong – that book was literally spine-tingling – but I loved that book even though horror is not usually a favorite genre.

I’ve definitely absorbed the lesson that I shouldn’t judge a book by its genre. I still judge books by their covers though!

Feature and Follow Friday is via parajunkee and Alison Can Read

9 Responses to “Feature and Follow Friday 4/5/13”

  1. Eleanor 04/05/2013 at 8:59 AM #

    I haven’t heard of the Sparrow, I’ll have to look that one up in a sec. 🙂 I was apprehensive about The Passage too but it was so good! Have you read the sequel? It’s been waiting on my shelf for a little while now… I also can’t help but judge books by their covers! It makes me really sad when a really great book has a bad cover…

    Thanks for visiting my FF 🙂 following you back!

    Eleanor @ La p’tite bibliothèque

    • shoesforallsays 04/05/2013 at 4:28 PM #

      I now follow you on feedly!

      The sequel to The Passage was even better than the first one. I loved it SO MUCH.

      The Sparrow is a great space travel novel although it really defies genre.

  2. Jana 04/05/2013 at 12:20 PM #

    Hi!

    Jana @ A Novel Reality

    • Jana 04/05/2013 at 12:22 PM #

      I am not sure how to follow your site. Could you follow me on my Linky and I will follow back. Or do you have another way?

      • shoesforallsays 04/05/2013 at 4:27 PM #

        Hi! I followed you on feedly which is how I follow blogs. There should be a little link when you comment that allows you to follow this blog. I hope. Unless wordpress hates me. 🙂

  3. missj 04/06/2013 at 6:16 PM #

    Ohh how did you resist Harry Potter for so long?! I remember reading the first and second books one after the other on holiday when I was 11. I think I got the books for Christmas but before then I had never heard of Harry Potter so when I got them I had no idea why lol. I’m glad I did though because Harry Potter was awesome!!

    Thanks for the follow! Following back via RSS/Bloglovin’

    • shoesforallsays 04/09/2013 at 8:47 PM #

      I was somewhat of a snob who decided that a book that popular couldn’t be any good so I resisted HP until right after the publication of the GOF.

  4. Cerian Halford 04/08/2013 at 2:40 PM #

    Love a bit of Harry Potter! I’m a new follower, My FF

Leave a Reply

