Top Ten Books I Recommend The Most

25 Mar

Top Ten Nine  Books I Recommend The Most (via The Broke and The Bookish’ Top Ten Tuesday)
Wasted by Marya Hornbacher
One of the best memoirs I have ever read, it manages to capture the feel of both adolescence and young adulthood

The Lumatere Trilogy by Melina Marchetta
Currently much of the best fantasy is being labeled/written in the YA genre. This is the recent fantasy trilogy that I can think of

Carry Me Home by Diane McWhorter
One of the best books about the US Civil Rights Movement, it’s narrow focus manages to thoroughly explore the subject while still giving a larger perspective

The Passage by Justin Cronin
Zombie-Vampires. Need I say more?

Fire by Kristin Cashore
One of my favorite heroines in all of fiction.

The Sparrow by Maria Doria Russell
This books hits all my buttons: faith, created family, travel and the limits and possibilities of technology.  I think this book may have been written just for me but that won’t stop me from telling everyone about it.

Orientalism by Edward Said
This book completely changed the way I looked at the world.

ASOIAF by George RR Martin
Truly epic fantasy.

Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery
A classic.

11 Responses to “Top Ten Books I Recommend The Most”

  1. Angelica @ Paperback Princess 03/26/2013 at 11:14 AM #

    Melina Marchetta is one of my fave writers and I just won Lumatere Chronicles #3 😀

    My Top Ten.

    Have a great week!

  2. Ula @ Blog of Erised 03/26/2013 at 12:12 PM #

    ASoIaF is such a great series! One of my all-time favorites. Made my list as well.

    Happy reading!
    My TTT

    • shoesforallsays 03/26/2013 at 10:09 PM #

      It is so hard to wait for the next book. Are you watching the series?

  3. thelibrarianchick 03/26/2013 at 2:25 PM #

    Graceling and Fire were both GREAT books! I was a bit disappointed by Bitterblue though. You?

    • shoesforallsays 03/26/2013 at 10:10 PM #

      I was disappointed by Bitterblue. I thought it could have been shorter and better edited.

  4. Catriona 03/26/2013 at 6:46 PM #

    Definitely some things I like the sound of there, really like your blog too! Here are my top 10 picks… http://fabulousbookfiend.blogspot.co.uk/

    • shoesforallsays 03/31/2013 at 5:36 PM #

      Sorry for the late comment! I’m glad you like my blog. I’m delighted by the compliment!

  5. trishhannon111 03/26/2013 at 7:12 PM #

    Anne Of Green Gables – will love forever! Wasted and Carry me Home sound interesting, will look to these a bit more 🙂

    BookishTrish @ Between the Lines

    • shoesforallsays 03/26/2013 at 10:11 PM #

      Anne of Green Gables is the best! Wasted is a great book but pretty intense. CMH is long, I will warn you, but very much worth it!

Leave a Reply

